What can we help you with?

Follow

Create A Social Message

There are two kinds of social messages that can be created with CoSchedule using the social message post creation box:


Create Social Messages That Standalone

Working with standalone social messages are similar to those that are associated with blog posts. Because these messages are not associated with a blog post, each standalone social message has the option for draft and review status.

1. Click on the pencil icon.

You can create a standalone social message using the large icon in the upper-right corner of your calendar, or by moving your mouse over the date on the calendar you would like the message to be published to reveal a + icon.

 

2. Select "Social Message" from the pop-up.

Click on Social Message to open the social message dialog box.

The "New Social Message" box will open where you can create your content. 

 

3. Choose the social networks you wish to publish to.

Select one or more social networks from the drop-down menu.

The networks you select will show in the box. You can remove an account by clicking on the thumbnail picture.

 

4. Choose what type of message you will send.

Text Post: A text post will contain only text. You can manually paste a link into your text post if you would like. No imagery will be grabbed and sent along with the link.

When creating a text-only post, the Google+ network always grabs an image any time a link is included. If you include a link in your text post, an image from the link source will appear in Google+.

Image Post: If you choose an image post for your social message, you will need to upload an image. Click on the  icon to do so. 

You can remove the image and add a different one by clicking on the "X" in the upper left corner that will replace the camera icon once an image has been uploaded.

Video Post: If you choose to schedule a Video post for your social message, you will need to upload a video. Click on the  icon to do so. 

You can remove the Video and add a different one by closing the message and creating a new message. There is no way to delete videos inside of a standalone social message.

Link Post: Sharing a link using the link post method will provide a link preview on your social networks according to how they display them. Add your link in the link box.

The Google+ network does not honor any custom graphics you might upload for any post with a link. If you include a link with your post, Google will allow you to select an image already on that page, but any custom graphic you might upload to replace the available images will not be published. Google+ will only take images that are found on the page you are sharing.

5. Preview your social message.

You can preview your created messages inside CoSchedule and see how they will look on each network. Simply choose which network you would like to preview from those listed. The only networks available to preview will be those that reflect the social accounts you have chosen.

 

6. Choose when you want to publish your message.

You can select which date and time you would like your message to publish.

You can select the status of your message: Publish, Draft, or Pending Review. You can also click on the white circle and add a custom color of each item on your calendar.

 

7. Save your post.

After you have all of the correct options selected for your post, click the orange Add Post button to save your social message.

Back To Top

Create Messages With Blog Posts

You can create and schedule messages for your social media accounts when you write your WordPress blog post. These messages will be associated with your blog post. You can create these messages through your calendar, or beneath the blog post itself in WordPress in the CoSchedule widget. These instructions are the same for either method.

1. Create the first message for the post.

In the WordPress post itself, the CoSchedule plugin is accessed below where you write your post in WordPress. Here, you can promote your blog post by setting up a social queue. To add the first post click on the Orange "+" Circle to create your first post. Here you can also set up your social queue by clicking the Grey "+" Circles underneath.

In the queue, social messages are now grouped based not the date they will be sent, adding clarity to your scheduling process. By default, the queue includes four key publishing times:

  • Same day as post – Let you audience know right when your blog post goes live.
  • Tomorrow – Build more traffic by sharing content the day after your post goes live.
  • Next Week – For blog content that is still relevant a week later.
  • Next Month – This option works particularly well for evergreen content that is always relevant.
  • Custom Date – Pick any date that you think is appropriate to post your content.

 

If you would rather make the messages on the calendar, click on the blog post. In the blog post box that pops up, click on the same Orange "+" Circle. You can set up your social queue here, too.

2. Create your messages.

Creating a social message with a blog post is very similar to creating standalone social messages described above, with just a few differences.

Image Post: If you choose to send your social message as an image post, CoSchedule will grab the images associated with the blog post. If you have more than one, you can arrow through and select the image you want. You can also upload a custom image if you would prefer. Please note that Google+ will not allow you to upload a custom image not already in the blog post.

Link Post: CoSchedule automatically grabs the URL of your blog post and sends it with the message when it is published. You will not add a URL. We approximate the appearance of the URL in the preview of the message.

If you do not wish to have an inline link in your social message, remove the {permalink} placeholder where you created your message.

3. Edit or delete if necessary.

If a message has not published yet, you may edit or delete it. On mouseover, you will see two icons appear in the corner. Click on the Pencil icon to edit, or the X to delete.

4. Manage your messages.

You can see any messages, both published and scheduled, associated with your blog posts at any time. They will be listed in the order they will be published.

Published messages will be grayed out and you will be uneditable. You cannot delete messages within CoSchedule that have already been sent.

Unpublished messages can be edited or deleted. Mouseover the message you wish to edit or delete. To edit, click the Pencil. If you would like to delete the message, click the "X."

You can also see, at a glance, what type of message it is by the icon in the left corner of the message.

  • If it is a text message, you will see
  • If it is a link message, you will see
  • If it is an image message, you will see
  • If it is a video message, you will see 

 

Back To Top

Have more questions? Submit a request