What can we help you with?

Follow

{The Last Resort} HARD Re-Authentication of Facebook and Twitter Profiles Whose Auth Token Keeps Slipping

Sometimes, in very rare cases for reasons we aren't entirely sure of, a profile will need what we've lovingly termed the "HARD Re-Auth."

This isn't necessarily a process that is "hard" to complete. In fact - the opposite. But there's a step in the process that's really important to pay attention to that I'll explain in a bit. 

Lets get started.

Hard Re-Auth for Facebook

First - log into Facebook to the personal profile that has access to the page or group that is having reauthentication issues. 

Then go to Settings.

When you're in your Settings, go to Apps.

 

Next scroll down your Apps list until you find CoSchedule.

 

Mouse over the CoSchedule app, and click the "x". Here's the important part.

DO NOT CHECK THE LITTLE BOX ON THE POPUP. 

DO NOT CHECK THE LITTLE BOX ON THE POPUP. 

DO NOT CHECK THE LITTLE BOX ON THE POPUP. 

DO NOT CHECK THE LITTLE BOX ON THE POPUP. 

DO NOT CHECK THE LITTLE BOX ON THE POPUP. 

Checking that box will remove ALL social media posts on your page, profile, or groups, that EVER came from CoSchedule. This would be bad. Very very bad. So just click Remove. 

Once you click Remove, our app permission will be removed from your account. Then you'll go back to your CoSchedule calendar, and connect the profile as if it is a brand new profile. DO NOT DELETE THE EXISTING CONNECTION.

For more instructions on reauthenticating your page, please proceed to this help doc.

Hard Re-Auth for Twitter

Click your Profile Picture in the top-right corner of the Twitter website. A drop-down menu will open, click Settings.

Next go to your Apps page and click Revoke Access next to CoSchedule.

Once you have revoked access, go back to your calendar and make a test message under the Twitter account that you have revoked access from. Click on the current day and make sure the Twitter message is scheduled to go out immediately. Don't worry, if you revoked access, the message will automatically fail and not be posted to your Twitter account.

After the message fails, go to Settings > Social Profiles and complete the Re-Auth proccess.

After you complete the re-authentication proccess, your account will be setup and will be ready to post without re-authenticating multiple times.

Back To Top

Have more questions? Submit a request