- How Does the Buffer Connection Work?
- Buffer's Free Account Limits
- How To Connect Buffer To CoSchedule
When you have connected CoSchedule to Buffer, you are able to send social media posts from inside CoSchedule directly to Buffer.
If you send your posts to Buffer with the "Add To Buffer" option, they may not be published immediately. They will be published according to how you have your Buffer queue set up. If you have other posts ahead of them in the queue, the posts you add will wait their turn.
If you want posts to publish immediately, you should not use the Add To Buffer option.
Posts that you send to Buffer will show on the CoSchedule calendar, indicating the day you sent them to your Buffer account. If you send a post to Buffer from CoSchedule, we allow Buffer to choose the time and send the post according to the settings you have arranged in your Buffer account.
In CoSchedule, you will be able to see the day that the post will be added to your Buffer account, so the actual date and time it is published will ultimately be determined by your Buffer settings, and will not be reflected on your calendar.
In other words, once the post is sent to Buffer, Buffer handles the publishing date and time from then on. The actual publish time may not be reflected on the CoSchedule calendar.
Buffer limits free accounts to a maximum of 10 messages in the queue. When a scheduled message is scheduled to be sent, it will be sent to Buffer at 12:00 AM that day. These all count towards your queue limit.
If your Buffer queue is already full, Buffer will refuse to accept the message from CoSchedule, causing a message failure. To correct this, reschedule the message for another day, or upgrade your Buffer account to increase the maximum number of messages that can be in your queue at one time.
1. Go to Settings > Social Profiles.
On the Social Profiles page, locate the account you would like to connect to Buffer. Be sure you have already connected the social profile to Buffer.
2. Click to connect to Buffer.
Click the Pencil next to your social profile. Inside the Profile Edit page, click Connect to Buffer to open the Buffer authorization box.
3. Authorize CoSchedule to access your Buffer account.
You will see an authorization screen pop up. Click Allow access to accept authorization. If you have the social media account already in Buffer, CoSchedule will automatically find the correct account and make the connection.
If you do not have the account already in Buffer, you will see an error message. The account must already be in Buffer before you can connect with CoSchedule.
4. Add posts to Buffer.
You can add your social posts to Buffer from the "New Social Message" window. When creating your social media message, select the Add to Buffer option from the drop-down menu when choosing what time you want your post published. Your social message will be sent to Buffer at that time, and it will from then on be handled by Buffer. It will appear on the CoSchedule calendar at the time it went to Buffer, but the publishing time may differ depending on how frequently you have your Buffer account set to publish.